Consultation on the health standards framework

Welsh Government are reviewing and updating the Standards for Health Services in Wales and the Fundamentals of Care Standards.

They are considering integrating the existing 26 Standards for Health Services in Wales and 12 Fundamentals of Care Standards into 7 Quality Themes and 24 Health Standards.

The 7 Quality Themes are:

  • staying healthy
  • safe care
  • effective care
  • dignified care
  • timely care
  • individual care
  • staff and resources.

They also want the new Health Standards to:

  • be owned and prioritised appropriately to meet the individual needs of the organisations and services giving the opportunity to align with the social services, public health and NHS outcome frameworks
  • promote the rights of children in line with the United Nations Convention of the Rights of the Child, and the Declaration of Rights for Older People
  • align to national policy and strategy
  • be informed by recommendations from reviews such as the Francis Inquiry, and quality and safety reviews in Wales.

You can read the full consultation document and details of how to respond on the Welsh Government website.

Deadline for responses: 26/01/2015